Wednesday, April 17, 2013

overwhelmed

i know it is silly, but i am so overwhelmed and can't figure out my projects! i don't have that many patterns, or even that much fabric for that matter, but i am having a difficult time trying to lay out some projects. 

in the last month or so i have bought some new fabrics (actually i went a little bit crazy on Fabric.com and have lots of new fabric!) and i can't figure out what i want to make out of everything!  some pieces i have a plan for, but others i have an idea, but no pattern chosen. 

*the kitty cat fleece in pink and blue...pj pants for me and Jeff. 
*the grey piece of fleece i made a sweatshirt out of and that is the extra.
*the stack of knits in the back i want to make t-shirts out of.
*the the blue floral knit on the white background my mom just got for me and i *think* i want to make a t-shirt hoodie.
*the teal is extra from a workout top i made
*the light grey i have no idea!




then i have to decide...do i pick a pattern from my stash? one from one of my book? one from Pinterest? or do i get a new one?! oh the choices! 



and that doesn't even count the quilts i want to make and all the OTHER fabric that i have waiting to be made into things. i am just not sure where to begin and am feeling a bit overwhelmed.
i need to stop.
i need to breathe.
i need to take one piece of fabric at a time.

what a life huh? being in turmoil over what to sew first! :)

maybe i will start with my stack of things that need to be mended and remade. that usually gets me going for new projects.

wish me luck!

xo
mandy

Friday, April 5, 2013

springy

it is finally feeling like spring. on my nice long walk today i saw so many little flowers poking out of the ground and lots of little frolicking creatures out and about. the grass is getting greener and the days are getting warmer. i love the spring and all the new possibilities it brings. 
i have been thinking about gardening and what things i want to plant this year. we didn't really do anything last year in the yard, i had just moved in and it wasn't on the top of the list of things to do. but this year, i would like to plant some things. i am thinking definitely some lilacs and tomatoes. anything else will just be a nice bonus. we need to add some stepping stones outside and maybe some solar lights for the front path, but nothing else major. i look forward to going to the plant store and picking out some nice things to go in the yard. :) 

i have been really into smoothies. they are SO good and practically zero calories the way i make them. just a little ice, a little water and lots of fruit! strawberries, bananas, raspberries and blueberries are my favorites right now! if i add nothing else it is zero calories, when i toss in a scoop of chocolate protein powder it adds 100 calories or so. i just made a strawberry smoothie with protein powder and it tasted like a chocolate covered strawberry. SO delicious!

the picture above was from my garden in Round Lake, IL a few years back. i love it because, until i brought up the image on my computer i didn't even notice the little bug on the flower petal, bonus!

xo
mandy

Monday, April 1, 2013

the big chill and starting again...

well today it the coldest it has been in several days...like put your coat back on it is cold outside kind of day. but looking forward it seems the temps will rise again later this week so that is always a good sign that spring hasn't abandoned all hope of happening! i love when the weather starts to warm up and the flowers start to bloom. everything gets green and fresh again. it is very inspiring to renew.

and speaking of fresh and renewing....

i am going to begin April as a clean slate. i am going to start my healthy eating plan (which is really just to say that i am going to watch my portion control and snacking), finally get more walking done (warmer weather means NO EXCUSES!), go down and workout with Jeff (no complaining-just do it), and generally just feel better about me. it has been the season of cover it all up long enough, now is the season of making it all look great before the season of take it all off! :) so i am siting here gearing up to take my walk in this very cold weather knowing that if i bundle up i won't even notice, and in a few days the weather will have warmed again to that i can be out there in my capris and soon my shorts. yay! 

for your viewing pleasure-me! almost ready for my walk. 



xo
mandy

Friday, March 29, 2013

outings and chili


isn't this the truth?! sometimes we just have to believe in ourselves a bit more to see what we can really accomplish. it is difficult to not let others get into your head an make you feel like you can't do something. but if you really put your all into it you will be amazed at what you can do.

we had a really nice day today. i went on a walk in the late morning and fixed a few pairs of Jeff's work pants. no matter how many times i fix them he seems to bust through the knees in his jeans. sometimes i wonder what he is doing at work! :) then we were out for most of the day. a beautiful fifty degree day, no way we were going to waste it being inside. so we went Goodwill Hunting and found some weights and a long sleeved workout top for me. then went to Petco to look at turtles and ferrets. they are both so cute! :) then off to the grocery store to get some much needed food! :) i will be making chili tomorrow! i can't wait. it has been on my crave list :) 

hope everyone had a lovely day and if you were in the area, enjoyed some of the beautiful weather. it is finally starting to feel like spring!

xo
mandy

Thursday, March 28, 2013

here and there and back again....


i seem to be pretty bad about keeping up my little blog here. it has become quite a creative space, which i love. but i think i am going to make it more about everything... most of my life revolves around taking care of my love, Jeff, and our kitties. but i think i need a place to just write about everything. so...we shall see if i can make this a place to put down all my thoughts.

as i said, my life revolves mostly around taking care of my boyfriend Jeff and our kitties - Champy, Doggie and Bree. Jeff works as a press foreman at a large printing company. he recently got a promotion and will be receiving his new title in a few months after training is complete. and i am a homemaker that takes care of practically everything at our house. 

a little background on me. i left my job of 17 years as a banker a "touch" over a year ago and moved in with my boyfriend to care for our home, our kitties, and him. i have had some health issues in the past few years and they came to a peak about a year and a half ago. i have been a "fainter" for most of my life. i just pass out randomly for seemingly no reason. but in the last several years it has been happening more and more frequently. what used to be one a year...maybe, has turned into once a week. i saw several different doctors who couldn't really pinpoint the problem. they just put me on a bunch of random medications that didn't really solve the problem, just gave me horrible side effects. my heart rate is naturally high and my blood pressure is naturally low. so my heart rate will spike and my blood pressure plummets and i pass out. well, about a year and a half ago i passed out while driving. thank goodness i ended up on the side of the road with my foot on the break. i didn't hurt myself or anyone else, it was a miracle. but since that moment i stopped driving. and i have no desire to even THINK about driving again until i have stayed "pass-out" free for six months. then, MAYBE i will entertain the thought. when the time came for Jeff and i to move in together he was supportive and insistent that i not worry about having a job. if i need to go somewhere i walk or Jeff drives me. i do lots of shopping online since it is just easier. but the not-driving thing has not been an issue so far. everyone in my life agrees that mandy+driving is not a good idea!

so, that is pretty much my story of becoming a homemaker.  but a typical day for me is still pretty full, despite not driving. Jeff works 3rd shift (he leaves the house at 7:30pm and comes home around 6:00am) monday through friday, so he sleeps most days until about 2:00pm. so from when i wake up to when he wakes up is when i do most of my household chores. i also try to squeeze in a walk (typically 4-5 miles) most days. the evenings consist of dishes, laundry and vacuuming. 

i am hoping to treat this as more of a journal, a daily log of "mandy-things".  i will also try to post at least one picture per post. the picture below is from our trip to Vegas that we just returned from. 


xo
mandy

Thursday, January 10, 2013

creativeness

i have been doing some creative things lately. i thought i would post a few of them. enjoy!








overwhelmed

i know it is silly, but i am so overwhelmed and can't figure out my projects! i don't have that many patterns, or even that much fab...